Navigation Menu+


Posted on Apr 23, 2019

LEXINGTON, KY – The Rotary Club of Lexington  held its weekly meeting Thursday, April 25th,  at the Red Mile, 1200 Red Mile Road. The program was the  Scholarship Day.

Rotary International and the Rotary Club of Lexington believe in education at all levels as a powerful means to change lives.  We invest in the future by giving scholarships each year to students who are already making a difference in our community and have the potential to change the world.

The Rotary Club of Lexington started its Scholarship Program in 1960 and has provided scholarship awards to high school seniors and college students based on outstanding academic achievement, extracurricular involvement, demonstrated leadership and community service. The awards are made possible by members of our Rotary club and the Lexington Rotary Club Endowment Fund.

The All-Fayette County Academic Team consists of a top scholar from each of ten Fayette County high schools. Rotary Scholarship Committee members make the final selection for each school and the recipients receive a scholarship of $1,250.  A $1,500 First Generation Scholarship is awarded to the student who has excelled in high school and will become the first person in his or her family to attend a four-year college.

In addition to the All-Fayette County Academic Team, a student who has demonstrated extraordinary community service is chosen to receive the Milward Cup, presented by Rotarian Bob Milward in honor of his late father and Rotarian, Emmett Milward.

The Ollie and Dick Hurst Award is presented by the Hurst family in memory of father and son Rotarians Ollie and Dick Hurst. The award is granted to a college student who has demonstrated academic achievement, exceptional character and a willingness to work while carrying a full class load.

The Rotary Scholarship Program provides a $6,000 scholarship to a single student designated as the Rotary Scholar.  This award is spread evenly over four years and the student must maintain a 3.0 GPA or better in college to remain eligible. The student is not included as a member of the All-Fayette County Academic Team.

Based upon essays submitted by the scholarship applicants, the committee chooses the recipient of the Jack T. Bryden Great Teacher Award. This outstanding teacher receives $1,000 and the student essayist(s), up to $500.

Scott Neal, Co-Chair with Jamie Schrader of the Scholarship Committee, will preside over the presentation of awards.


For additional information, or to attend this meeting, please contact Peggy Trafton at 

401 West Main Street • Suite 305 • Lexington, KY 40507 • (859) 389-8100

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Youtube