Navigation Menu+

First Responders Day

Posted on May 21, 2019

LEXINGTON, KY – The Rotary Club of Lexington held its weekly meeting Thursday, May 23,  at the Red Mile, 1200 Red Mile Road. The program  honored Lexington’s First Responders.

The Rotary Club of Lexington is proud to honor the 2019 First Responders of the Year Award. This is our second year of honoring Lexington First Responders from the various organizations who keep us safe, save our lives, homes, and protect us year-round. With the Rotary motto, ‘Service Above Self’, these individuals perform their duties as their ‘regular’ jobs, and have performed above and beyond the call to be selected by their respective organizations. Today you will meet some terrific and heroic individuals. They have forged tremendous relationships with those whom they serve in order to build a better community. Additionally, they have, volunteered to show the community that they and their fellow professionals are ‘one of them’ and have established a more trusting image for themselves.

This year’s honorees:

  • Fayette Public Schools                               Officer James Moore
  • University of Kentucky Police                  Sergeant  Samantha Hess
  • Division of Corrections                              Corporal April Anthony
  • Bluegrass Airport                                         Ron Sapp
  • Transylvania University                             Officer Joseph Casey McClure
  • Lexington Police Department Officer      Dawn Norden
  • Lexington Fire Department                        Seth Lockhart
  • 911 Call                                                           Tracy Wells
  • Fayette County Sheriff                   Sergeant  Antoine Palmer

Deputy Josh Pugh

Director of Communications, Rebecca Chancellor

Assistant Director of Communications, Jamie Jenkins

Please join us in congratulating these outstanding representatives of their respective organizations and departments. Our wonderful Lexington is a better and safer place because of them and their example.


For additional information, or to attend this meeting, please contact Peggy Trafton at 

401 West Main Street • Suite 305 • Lexington, KY 40507 • (859) 389-8100

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Youtube